Emigrating to EU states

Switzerland has signed various bilateral agreements and an agreement on the freedom of movement of persons with the European Union Member States and the EFTA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway).

The Agreement on the free movement of persons seeks to facilitate the geographical and professional mobility of Swiss citizens within the EU and EFTA Member States. This agreement stipulates, in particular, that Swiss citizens shall enjoy, within the European area, living, employment and working conditions identical to those accorded to citizens of the EU/EFTA states.

Our legal service

We provide general information about Swiss law in relation to emigration and answer any specific questions you may have. We would also be happy to provide you with information material on the topic.

You will find more information on the following websites:

The following brochures contain the most important information relating to emigration to an EU/EFTA state:

Additional information: