• SwissCommunity
  • E-voting

OSA advice


I’ve heard that the Swiss Abroad can vote electronically in some cantons. Which ones are they?

The following cantons allow their citizens abroad to vote over the Internet: Aargau, Basel-Stadt, Berne, Fribourg, Geneva, Lucerne, Neuchâtel and St. Gallen. Other cantons, such as Vaud and Thurgau, plan to introduce e-voting for their citizens abroad in the course of 2018.

The introduction of electronic voting falls under the remit of the cantons which have sole discretion as to whether or not to provide their citizens with this additional means of voting. This is why not all cantons currently provide the Swiss Abroad with this opportunity.

The Organisation of the Swiss Abroad is campaigning for the introduction of e-voting for all Swiss Abroad, regardless of which canton they vote in.

For further information, see the factsheet on electronic voting published by the Organisation of the Swiss Abroad:

The OSA’s Legal Service provides general legal information on Swiss law, particularly in areas which concern the Swiss abroad. It does not provide information on foreign law or intervene in disputes between private parties.