Ticino: Politics

(Vuoi leggere una versione approfondita dei contenuti di questa pagina in italiano? Clicca qui)


The Ticino canton is the only administrative area in the whole of Switzerland to still use the proportional representation system for government elections (Consiglio di Stato) and parliamentary elections (Gran Consiglio). The five State Councillors (Consiglieri di Stato) and the 90 members of the Gran Consiglio are elected by the people for a four-year term with the former presiding over the five Departments (Dipartimenti). The State Chancellor’s Office (Cancelleria di Stato) is the highest authority in the Consiglio di Stato and its General Secretary holds legislative and executive power in the Canton.


The population is called to vote every four years for the deputies (deputati) who will represent the Canton in the Swiss Parliament in Bern. Two Councillors represent each Canton in the upper house and eight representatives from Ticino sit in the lower house where the number of seats is proportionate to the population size of the canton.


At municipality level, mayors and councillors serve four-year terms. Dozens of municipalities make up the Ticino canton and many of them have been subject to mergers and aggregations over the years. 


For more information on politics in Ticino

Cantonal Government

State Chancellery

Cantonal Parliament

Voting by the Ticinesi abroad

Next voting sessions in Ticino canton

Electronic Vote in Switzerland



Explore Switzerland



Strategic Partners



Gazzetta Svizzera